The New Orleans Public Belt Railroad Commission for the Port of New Orleans is comprised of six Commissioners. Since the alignment of the Port of New Orleans and the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad in February 2018, and in accordance with La R.S. 33:4530 et seq., Port Commissioners also serve on the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad Commission. The Governor of Louisiana appoints Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans’ members from a list of three nominations submitted by local civic, labor, education and maritime groups. They are unsalaried and serve five-year staggered terms.

Current members include: Chairman William H. Langenstein, III, Vice-Chairman Charles H. Ponstein, Secretary-Treasurer Darryl D. Berger, Commissioner Tara C. Hernandez, Commissioner Joseph F. Toomy and Commissioner Walter J. Leger, Jr. The regular monthly meetings of the New Orleans Public Railroad Board of Commissioners are held at 1350 Port of New Orleans Place, New Orleans, LA 70130, unless otherwise specified.

Upcoming 2021 Regular NOPB Commission Meetings

  • June 24
  • July 22
  • August 26
  • September 23
  • October 21
  • November 18
  • December 16

For information on past board meetings click here.